Inquiry/Help about a game client.

Started by
4 comments, last by hplus0603 2 years, 8 months ago

Hi everyone!

I would like to introduce myself first, I am Steezy a gamer/former online admin staff at Garena. I am here to seek help and also to ask what kind of programming used in building gaming clients ? The client's main purpose is to connect online gamers via LAN but virtually/online. I've searched some in the web and some says it uses some kind of “socket layers” and also "packet sniffing" which I do think it is a programming terms. I do not have any knowledge in programming but I really want to build this kind of client as it really important as of now because the largest gaming client (Garena Inc.) and their famous LAN client shutdown many years ago and people wanted to play custom games are struggling to find better client similar to Garena.

Here is an example:

My account is (swpia.zen) and I am an admin of a “virtual room” that any player host a game there, and any player that finds games in their LAN list appear.

As what I have observed while I was still a staff, these were the function.

Normal Players Features

• Has a exp/level system
  • Unique ID number (Which at first I think was kinda useless why there was just a bunch of random numbers although I found out that these are being used when you are become a channel admin. Since the ID system is unique that one user will have one ID and there will be no similar ID's
  • Usergroup category(Normal Member, Gold Member, Premium Member)
  • Can host games(although the game connection depends on the hosts internet provider meaning, if the host has better connection there won't be any lag or ping issue, while if the host don't have a better speed well lag spike, delays may occur.
  • Chat System (private message)
  • Country flag

Channel Admin Features (This was my current position)

• Has the access to the room's main function
  • Can ban & kick players out of the room