Self-Taught Composer Looking for Feedback on Music

Started by
5 comments, last by James Suh 4 years, 6 months ago

Hello everyone! I'm a high school senior trying to gain as much insight on the game music industry as I can. I've taken up the task to teach myself a ton of music theory and production to better myself as a composer and as a musician overall. Most of what I listen to is from a wide variety of anime and games, and although I'd like to say I'm heavily influenced by Japanese composers, my music is hopelessly all over the place in terms of genre and style. 

I originally wrote this post to ask for feedback for all of what I've written so far, but it felt like such an open ended question for such a wide variety of music that I've divided my music into sets. I'm here to ask for any feedback on what I have written in this playlist.

With that being said, here is a link to the first set of music. Thank you for your time:  

Advertisement

Hi James, 

I enjoyed Crystal Cave! Nice mix and evolution. It would be great to hear a new, contrasting section to broaden your melody and give the song a bit more depth and length. Forest Demo is more of an underscore - which is okay. I also like how the two cues collaborate and work off each other. 

Overall, very nice! You definitely have some talent and skill happening! Keep exploring ideas and more production techniques. Thanks, 

Nate

Nathan Madsen
Nate (AT) MadsenStudios (DOT) Com
Composer-Sound Designer
Madsen Studios
Austin, TX

Thank you Nate, 

I've been trying to work on song structure and arrangement recently by copying down pieces from composers I admire into my software and then analyzing them. This was due to the fact that I wasn't really getting much from just listening for structure and arrangement, and its still a huge challenge for me to understand what makes a piece flow with itself. Do you have any suggestions for other ways I could approach understanding structure and arrangement? 

Best regards,