Question regarding variable FPS for sprite sheet animations and the game itself

Started by
3 comments, last by Wessam Bahnassi 4 years, 10 months ago

Hi! I’m an artist working on a 2D mobile platformer Unity game, and recently created a jumping sprite sheet of 6 frames, meant to be run in 12 fps. The programmer in the team sent feedback that the sprite sheet was not smooth, and should be meant to run in 30 fps (mobile) or 60 fps (PC). 

I’ve never heard of sprite sheet animations done in 60 fps, so I did quite a bit of research on the net, which states some games use variable frame rates, with sprite sheets running at a lower frame rate than the game itself. 

1. Just wanted to check if this holds true for most games, or if I misunderstood something? 

2. Is 12 fps not used to animate sprite sheets in 2D mobile platform games?

Any help is much appreciated, thank you so much!

Advertisement

I'm responding from the point of view of programming rather than art, so I don't know if this'll be useful. That said:

I’ve never heard of sprite sheet animations done in 60 fps, so I did quite a bit of research on the net, which states some games use variable frame rates, with sprite sheets running at a lower frame rate than the game itself. 

1. Just wanted to check if this holds true for most games, or if I misunderstood something?

I think that's probably true, generally speaking. Different games handle timing differently, but frame rates for sprite animation can certainly be independent of the game's frame rate (and probably usually are, I'd imagine). Also, I'd guess sprite animation frame rates are probably often less than the game frame rate.

2. Is 12 fps not used to animate sprite sheets in 2D mobile platform games?

I don't think there's anything particular special about platform games here, or maybe even about mobile games. That said, 12 FPS certainly seems reasonable for certain art styles. Maybe artists can weigh in on that part.